Third Time Unlucky

Re-found this and I quite like it, so yolo. 

_

(First Time)

I

I mean, I like

No, not like you.

I mean, of course I do.

I don’t not not dislike you.

Once more

Without the quadruple negative.

You’re such a massive

An important part

Of my

But the moment’s gone.

(Second Time)

Small talk – the sporadic

Burst of chitchat. Trying to

Delta

Oscar

Delta

Golf

Echo

The inevitable question –

Do you?

I

                                                     

Pause

Beat

A fraction of a millisecond too long.

To gloss over the moment,

Like painting over air pockets,

We eat.

 

(Final Time)

My words itch at my throat

I scratch them till they bleed

Till they drip from my tongue.

I love you

A haemorrhage of the heart.

But my words are

Belated.

An ironic epitaph

Buried beneath the new happiness you have found

With him.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. circusfreakandliar says:

    Reblogged this on The Poetry Addict.

    1. Nikki Acquah says:

      thanks for reblogging 🙂

Leave a Reply

