ENTITLED: A RESOLUTION TO LIBERATE EMOTION AND MONOPOLISE NOTHING IN FIVE STAGES

It’s been a while since I wrote poetry. So here is a poem with an obnoxiously lengthy title, entitled ‘Entitled’ (for short).** If, like me, you enjoy reading things in PDF format (it just feels nicer) you can read the PDF version here: CLICK HERE FOR OBNOXIOUSLY TITLED POEM

If, unlike me, you’re not a total weirdo and have no preference, you can read the poem below 🙂 Have a good day people xx

*It’s not obnoxious if you acknowledge the obnoxiousness. In other words, the humble-brag never fails.

*’…title, entitled ‘Entitled’ may just about be grammatically correct. I am proud of myself.

 

ENTITLED: A RESOLUTION TO LIBERATE EMOTION AND MONOPOLISE NOTHING IN FIVE STAGES 

 

I.

One of my resolutions was to feel.

Yes. That all. To feel.

This Resolution Game has no rules.

How does one acknowledge and understand their anger?

How do I understand my pain, my sorrow or my joy?

Can I pass go? Can I collect two hundred?

Because after making my resolution,

I still censor my thoughts.

I still do not KNOW my thoughts.

Let me stay in jail, because I can’t bear the freedom.

II.  

There are a series of doors,

Some tried, tested.

Most – if we’re being honest, all – were locked.

You opened every one, peeked in, and poked about.

Doors left ajar have always pissed me off,

but I am not entitled to call you a bastard.

This is laughable.

III.

Let’s make it six days,

Six days to die then be reborn.

It’s all about timing.

IV.

Hope hurts and hope hurts and hope hurts and

Hope kills.

V.

And the “what if’ burns.

Leave a Reply

